India: Coming Home to a Surprise (His Version)

20150125_182738

I’ll start this post out with a few context points.  We’d been wanting to try Rasika for months and just never did.  Finally for Bridget’s birthday I made reservations. Unfortunately we could not do it ON her birthday due to my crazy schedule at work, but close enough.  Little did Bridget know that I had an amazing surprise for her after dinner, an engagement ring!

If you know me, you know I can’t keep secrets.  One of my favorite things to do is apparently ruin surprises.  So the past few months keeping this GIANT secret was the hardest thing ever! As for the actual Indian cuisine, it couldn’t have been better.  Either I was too anxious to get home or the server wanted us out fast, our meal was done in minutes it felt like.  Which again, the surprise at home was more exciting than the actual meal.

I was informed by the Kolskys that we HAD to order the Palak Chaat for an appetizer.  While it was quite good and enjoyed, the high expectations were not really met.  The crispy spinach and yogurt that was mixed with the dates was good but not “the best thing ever” as we were told. For entrees the server warned us how spicy some dishes were and said they were “American spicy.”  To this we both thought it couldn’t be that bad.

I ordered the Lamb Rajasthani (in the bottom of the picture.)  The lamb dish was sure-enough, spicy but just “American spicy.”  Bridget’s on the other hand was definitely spicy, no matter what adjective you put ahead of it.  She ordered the Chicken Parsi, which was enjoyed and again enjoyed the next day for lunch.  And of course we enjoyed a side of Garlic Naan.

I’d also like to explain during this whole meal, Melissa Williams, was setting up a perfect pre-organized engagement scene.  She texted me during the meal and a few fun photos.  Sadly Bridget wasn’t able to come home to this: 10801669_10205170473558757_5571896662509316309_n

For dessert, which I happily ordered to stall, we got the Gulab Jamun.  Dessert was well worth the order and in fact eaten so fast we forgot to take a picture.  The dish was served with a cold cardamom flavored ice cream, which was different.  The key to the dish was the saffron pistachio flavored rabdi.  If you have never had rabdi, it is basically a egg-less ice cream but more thick.   We couldn’t stop eating it and wanted to lick the plate at the end.

As for what we went home to?  Well I learned one thing, telling Bridget that there may be a surprise party waiting for her at the apartment.  She was basically fretting it the whole way home.

When walking up the back stairs on the patio, it didn’t help that Melissa left the blinds open and turned on most of the lights in the living room.  Also, no dogs were there to maul us for coming home so late, this caught Bridget off guard as well.

10924717_10104092379280960_8179403513976920739_n

After seeing what was on the counter, I don’t know if she really knew what was going on.  Maybe it was just a birthday present but of course I knew.  I asked Bridget to be my “lobster” (because they mate forever) and spend the rest of her life with me.  I asked her to merry me and (some people maybe are still surprised) she said YES!  A beautiful way to end the night and celebrate a wonderful person’s birthday.

We will always be “Two Lost Souls, Swimming in a Fishbowl, Year After Year.”

-Matt

Leave a Reply

